Harmony 16 - Why not showing what new feature can do - The import 3D object and render 2D

I see the list of new features in Harmony 16. I’m curious as to why there is no video showing the feature Import 3D object and render 2D.

This too me is a bigger and more important feature than onion skin. I’ve been asking for this for almost 5 years now and you have something significant and yet you don’t show it.

Is a video on this feature coming out? Can we see an example?

EDIT: just saw feature in a TB video on youtube and unfortunately it looks rather limited in what it does.

Hello Ernesttx,

We did post a video on the feature on our Learn portal, you can find that particular topic here: https://learn.toonboom.com/modules/effects-rendering-and-3d/topic/rendering-a-3d-asset-as-a-2d-layer?c=53

I’m glad that we added a feature you were looking forward to having implemented, though your edit mentions that you feel it’s limited. Could you elaborate a little on what you were looking for from the feature?

Thanks,

1. 3D object does not appear to have any material settings, ie. can’t change material/colors or anyway to set up a toon render of 3D object

2. Going back and forth to transform the 3D object - time wasted for any type of realtime interaction

3. Is it animatible? That is, if I flatten 3D object to 2D layer and then reposition camera 40 frames down, will I have to do another 3D object transform and will that 3D object transform show in camera movement?

4. There does not seem to be any subdivision settings for the 3D object for smoother rendering. As you can tell by the doorway entries on the 3D object imported in your video.

It appears that this is a static background 3D object into 2D layer kind of thing. There does not appear to be any way to animate objects that you import (for example, if that 3D room you imported in the video had a door object, you wouldn’t be able to animate the door opening).