Hand Drawn / Traditional Workflow in Harmony

Hello, I’m relatively new to the software-and there’s a lot I like about it so far! However, I do have a couple questions about certain things I don’t.

When you’re doing traditional animation you kind of draw inside out, you have your key frames, extreme positions and inbetweens, and as long as you stick to that hierarchical convention you can kind of go in whatever order you want. (what I typically do is draw all frames in a row using a timing chart and then rearrange them after the fact)

One problem for me is that Harmony seems to do a lot of stuff by default and even by design that kind of interrupts this process

• I hold shift + drag to insert one frame between a pair of others (something a traditional-style animator has to do constantly, both in the beginning and later as adjustments are made) and, unless there’s at least two unique drawing frames between the origin frame and destination frame a frame is replaced with an exposure

• I shift + drag a frame between a pair of frames, one with multiple exposures, and the frame being dragged replaces those exposures and adds to them rather than being inserted in front of them on the timeline

• I drag a frame backwards on the timeline and ToonBoom automatically adds exposures from the origin frame and destination frame, or from the nearest frame between the origin frame and destination frame

• I drag a segment of multiple frames away from another segment of multiple frames and exposures are automatically generated filling in the gap created by that segment

• I drag a frame anywhere near another frame or group of frames and exposures are generated to fill in gaps automatically

These things can kind of be worked around-but I truly don’t understand why they exist to begin with, and dealing with them gets exponentially more troublesome the more complex a project gets; I would sincerely appreciate any advice. Thanks!