GOT AN UNUSUAL PROBLEM... NEED HELP!!---NOW SOLVED

I am somewhat new to Studio, but I understand it well and have done some very satisfying animation using it. I am currently using version 4.0 on a Mac OS 10.4.11 with an Wacom Intos 3 graphics tablet.

The problem is, as I was near completion of a character’s animation, all of a sudden can’t use the “S” & “A” keystroke to advance the play; when I try to click on a frame in either the exposure or in the time line, the frame won’t click, where I want it to, instead it jumps to where it wants, and I have no way of getting to a frame where I have to edit or move etc.

Here’s what I tried to get around it:
I opened a new blank file and everything is normal, so I made a peg of the entire character and saved it to the Global Library. When I bring the character from the library, into the fresh new file the whole problem is back.

Does anyone know what caused this problem and/or how to fix it?

I would really appreciate help with this.

Many thanks.

Rob Mackintosh

Further, which may help…

http://www.robmackdesign.com/NewFiles/TBfreezing.jpg

This is a screen dump and I added notations to show that there seems to be a sequence to where the file will jump to. No matter where I click my cursor going from left to right, it will only jump to the spots I marked “x” in the time line, plus of course, the point where it physically was at the time of the dump.

It seems to be the main character (bette) element that has become corrupt. Every time I include just one of the frames from it in any file it stops the ability to select individual frames.

This element contains 6 drawings that were done using a brush line and then filled. There is one color being used that is a transparent value --and that’s as complex as it gets.

I have re-installed the program and opened from the new install and it is still corrupt when I use that element or any part from it. Does anyone know any known causes for an element to corrupt like that?

–Rob