Getting organized

Hi all. First off, I’m a newb to ToonBoom and I have been poking around and have several questions.

1. I would like to know how to get organized using Templates and Libraries but not have them stored or created on the C: drive?

2. Must the “Toon Boom Templates” always reside on the C: drive and why is it “locked”?

3. I have many character heads that have been created in Flash and I would like to import them into the Library or a Template and I would like to maintain the relationship of their elements (Group them) so that when I select the head it is moved as a group. How is this done? (I’m thinking that Pegs are the only way to accomplish this.)

You can locate the Global Library along the path of your choice. The path setting is done in Preferences on the General tab. Just copy your current Global Library to the new path location first and then write in the new path location to that Global Library in Preferences.

Moving multi-symbol or multi-layer assets from Flash to TBS is relatively easy. I have written some tips on doing this HERE. When working with multiple symbol assets or multi-layer assets, using a “grouping” peg is the way to keep the assets connected. -JK

I had a look at your tips but there must be something I’m doing wrong. I placed each symbol into it’s own frame on the single layer timeline in Flash, exported the SWF file, imported into Toonboom and it put each element on it’s own layer and gave each one a peg. Toonboom created a multi layered (pegged) timeline. Yuk! I was hoping to export my charcter form Flash to Toonboom and yet still maintain all the relationships of the characters elements to each other. It looks as though I have to reassemble all the parts in Toonboom to get my charcters put back to gether again. What a tediuos and time consuming process. Is ther a better way to do what I am looking for without having to reconstruct all the parts again. Humpty Dumpty needs to be put back together everytime? BLAH!