From Final Cut Pro to Storyboard Pro?

Hello,
I’m a tv animatic editor who’s used to cutting in Final Cut, but my latest project wants me to do the animatic in Storyboard Pro so we can print out the final conformed storyboard to send to the animation house.

I’ve figured out how to get the project from Storyboard Pro to Final Cut (mostly using XML) but I would LOVE it if I could do that in reverse.

Besides the fact I’m faster in Final Cut, it’s easier for the director to see the animatic (dissolves & all…) & then have me make changes on the spot. To see the dissolves I need to be in Final Cut, but any changes I make are not reflected in Storyboard Pro as they are done in FCP. I have to try to conform the storyboard project to my final cut project by hand frame by frame so we can print out the board.

I figured out I could export an XML from Final Cut & could import it into Storyboard Pro (file-conform project-import animatic) but none of the changes I make in FCP are reflected in SBP. which of course makes the whole thing useless to me.

Any ideas? It would make my life SO much easier!

Is there ANY way to go from Final Cut back into Storyboard Pro???

Or does anyone know what the differences are in the XML of Storyboard Pro & Final Cut so maybe I could get a guy to write an app to convert one to the other?

Thanks in advance!!

Hi Stephaniel,

You should be able to so using the conformation (under the file menu);

Export to xml from Storyboard Pro,
Import the xml in Final Cut Pro,
Do your timings,
Export to xml from Final Cut Pro,
Import the new xml in Storyboard Pro

And voila ! ;D

That’s what I tried to do.

I’m using Storyboard Pro 1.6 (version 8.6.2(4747)) & Final Cut Pro 7.0

In Storyboard Pro:
- file → export to… → EDL/AAF/XML
- settings: generate XML, half size 960x540, video config: apple ProRes 422(HQ) 23.98, one movie clip per panel, generate video files, copy audio files, clip range all, open folder after export

In Final Cut Pro:
- file → Import → XML