First impression of Animate...

I just built my first character in Animate, and I fought hard with Animate’s drawing tools. Here is a list of things that made me fight with it.

1. For some reason the Undo wouldn’t undo.

2. Everytime I go into the color wheel, Animate crashes

3. I found the drawing tools very difficult to use, but I am new to them so I will see if I learn some more.

4. When you insert your characters layers into a Master Peg everything seems to get all screwed up. The eyes are under the head, hair under the head, ect, and there always seems to be a Bone that cannot be Excluded from the IK. Although, I got it to finally disappear when I selected the Master Peg layer and hit Exclude from IK, not sure if that is the right thing to do, BUT it worked.

5. My biggest wrestling came when trying to use the paint bucket to fill something that is closed. The thing just does not like filling, even when you select- close large, medium, small gaps. I tried the close gap tool but I would end up having to fill things with the brush tool. VERY FRUSTRATING

Overall it was fun, but I deffinately want to see easier drawing tools to work with. Specially the Contour Editor, or an easier way to edit paths and delete/add Anchors.

right now I am animating the character and I cannot believe how fast I am going. This is certainly the reason for the HYPE. The Animation part ROCKS!

Problems 1 & 2 clearly shouldn’t be happening and don’t happen for me.

3 I find them fine, but i just use a mouse. I think they are reasonably good for my use.

Point 5, remember to make sure the paint setting is righr (like your not using paint unpainted to paint something painted) but also if you zoom in before painting it works way better than zoomed out. I have no idea why this is the case, but i always zoom when painting now because of this.