exporting with a transparent background

I am having real trouble doing this.

I am sure I am just missing something simple. I have tried all the different options in the write module and i seem to just get flat images.

I want to image to be seperate to the background cause I am going to put them into an iphone game!

Just export as a PNG4 image sequence. This retains the alpha channel which is transparent for areas that don’t have an image.

Oh I was trying TGA4 I will give PNG4 a go.

PNG4 works great!

I wonder why TNG4 doesn’t ???

Oh well at least I have my solution. I appreciate you helping me to overcome my stupidity :slight_smile:

On the bright said I will have some samples to post soon once the agreement is signed :slight_smile:

So I open the TGA4 in photoshop how do you find it?

That said I am happy using PNG4 I am just curious now :slight_smile:

Hi!
Does it work in Animate 2 Pro Student Version?
I set my OpenGL to export in PNG4 but my background is still in black.
I open my image on Photoshop, but it is not transparent, too.

It happens because this student version?

you aren’t using a black colour card are you?

I don’t know…
What is this black colour card?

a colour card is a way to make a background in Animate. Since you don’t know what it is I assume you didn’t do it!

If your background is black (you drew a background) then it won’t show as transparent. It will only show if there is nothing there.

Also make sure you export network.

The OpenGL export can’t export transparency can it? I think, you always have to use the write node and render network in Animate Pro/Harmony

I got it!
I just changed the drawing type to PNG4 in the layer properties on the write node in the Network window. =)
Thanks!

To do this, you must enable the project’s alpha layers, which contain the image’s transparency information.
You can follow these steps: