Export files too big or too blurry

Hi

I am a High School teacher from Melbourne, Australia. I teach at a community school for students at risk of not completing their education.

I posted a topic already in this section, and I haven’t recieved a reply in months, so I am trying again (this time with a slightly modified question).

I am running an animation subject at my school this year and the students are using Toon Boom animation, so I would like to get this issue resolved as quickly as possible!

I have an animation file that is 1280 by 720 pixels (HD in 16:9) and I am using 25 frames per second. The animation goes for approximately 35 seconds. I am exporting the file as a .avi file. I read on this website that if you are exporting your animation files to another movie editing program (in this case Adobe Premiere CS4) that it is best not to compress the file untill later on. Thus, in the export options, I selected no compression, and 25 frames per second, with 1000s of colours. When I export the file, however, it comes out at a whopping 1.52 GB. This is too large for my computer to play without slowing down and becoming very choppy, and it makes editing the animation in Premier extremely difficult. Is a 35 second file meant to be this large?

Thus, I tried adding compression. These were the settings:

Compression: DV PAL
Quality: Best
Frame rate: 25
Scan mode: Interlaced
Aspect Ratio: 16:9

However, the animation then came out with a noticeable loss of quality… It appeared blurry.

The animation is for a TV pilot I am making, although it has direct relevance for my class as well. The TV pilot is designed for Australian television, although it will be standard def (not high def).

Do you have any suggestions for how I should be exporting these files into Premiere to avoid these problems (ridiculously massive files or blurry images)?

Thank you for your time!

-Linus

Video editing, especially in HD is very demanding on the computer…