Duplicate Drawing?

I’m just getting started in Toon Boom Studio and I’m trying to get the hang of how things are done in it.

Is there a single key I can press that will take my current drawing, duplicate it and put it on the next frame? It seems like this would be absolutely essential for creating quick frame by frame animations.

I tried the Duplicate Drawing command and it just creates a new name for the current drawing on top of the existing one. I don’t understand the point. I feel like I’m really missing something here. Thanks in advance.

EDIT: Ok I understand drawings are saved in the “Drawing Folder”. My next question would be is this folder just “behind the scenes” or is there a way to look at what drawings are in it?

From what I can see, the quickest way to get what I want is to mouse select the drawing in the exposure sheet, Control-C, select the next drawing or down arrow, then control-shift-v. It would nice to have that assigned to one key, a macro I suppose.

If you want literally the same drawing in several cells then you can simply set the exposure. There are several shortcuts for that.

Right click on the timeline and look at the set exposure/ exposure commands to see what they do.

If you want a new drawing that you can manipulate separate from the first then you will need to copy and paste it to the next cell. And consequently give it a new name. This is basically traditional style animation where new drawings are on each cell.

f you create a drawing then turn it into a puppet you could reuse your drawings then use keyframes to animate them.

The tuorials are wonderful if you have time to do them.

You can look thru and select any cell for the currently selected frame for a specific element by using the slider on the Cells Panel.