Don't Go Falling

Hi Folks

Here’s a video I made to go with a song I wrote late last year.

http://www.newgrounds.com/portal/view/589662

I made it because it’s a genre I’ve never tried before and because I wanted to understand Inverse Kinematics better.

My starting point was the two silouette characters. Both characters are fully rigged and can be manipulated either by the Transform Tool, the Inverse Kinematic tool or a mixture of both. I used silouettes because I wanted to take the characters down to basics in order to understand more about kinematics without having to build patches for joints and generally ending up with a structure that would confuse me (very easily done!). In the main, there is only one drawing for each limb and if I couldn’t get the exact pose I wanted because of the design restraints, I worked around it.

Once the characters were built I tried to find settings that would work with the silouettes.

Further simplifications are that it’s all one camera “shot” and made in a single “scene” in Animate 2.

In the end, the way the action evolved, I hardly used any character movement at all! Most moves are made using the Transform Tool but there was a tiny bit of work with the Inverse Kinematics tool. At the moment, based on my extreme lack of knowledge, I think I prefer the Transform Tool for animating. Sometimes using the Inverse Kinematics tool was like trying to pose an octopus by holding one of it’s legs.

Thanks to the ToonBoom team for the excellent tutorials in this area.

I’m glad I didn’t get more ambitious.

Bob

Nice work, Bob! I hope you don’t mind if I give some suggestions. I thought it started off well and I liked the silhouette technique. When the heart breaks in scene one I think the breaking lines that come in from the sides should have turned to black as they went over the white heart. Would have been more effective.