Do I need Maya to render 3D from Harmony

Hi Guys,

I am a Flash Animator. I learnt about Harmony and got really excited about what it could do - especially 2D/3D integration. I have few friends who work with Blender and Maya.

1. Does Harmony support full integration with Blender? I think it doesn’t but would like to confirm.
  2. I think Harmony has full integration with Maya i.e. I understand that I can import 3D models created in Maya inside Harmony and work from there. For rendering the output, do I need to have Maya installed in the same PC where Harmony is installed? Please clarify.

Thanks,
Vasanth

Supposedly it can render with 3delight and pixie, but I have never seen an example or tutorial on this, only for Maya. So for all intents and purposes the only physical evidence out there points to needing Maya to render 3D.

Thanks for your reply.

Once the 2D character animation is done by Harmony with integrated FBX 3D models at the background of the scene.This means both 2D and 3D assets communicate with together in one scene setup. Incase i don’t have Maya or any 3D softwares in the same machine, where to go for the render. If any possible to rendering the files from Harmony to go through the different machine using Maya.

Could you please elaborate to setting up the render pipeline?

Thanks,
Vasanth

If you look on you tube there are a few videos explaining the pipeline. As I understand it the models are loaded into Harmony, and then rendered in Harmony, with Harmony calling Maya to do the 3D rendering through the maya batch render node. For this you need Maya to be installed, but I’m not sure if Maya requires an active license just to do the rendering.

I am asking the same question… Blender + Harmony

Thanks.