Disadvantages compared to Flash

Hi there. I’m a newbie just taking some Flash MX lessons and I must admit the thought process to the design phase of my characters is nothing short of maddening! I want to run for TBS to save me,…but I’m fearful that it won’t offer the HUGE advantage that MX offers with its’ ability to save my characters and their features as symbols in a libraray to be used over and over again. What a time saver!!!

Does TBS offer ANYTHING that allows the user to re-use their characters after spending hours designing them or their walk cycles? I mean the thought of redesigning a walk cycle for everytime I use a character seems more maddening than the design tools at Flash.

Any thoughts on this subject before I go to lesson number 3 with Flash?

Thanks in advance.

Todd

My character design in toon boom is similar to that in flash I have been making modifications as I go and they continue to evolve. but you can take the characters between the 2 programs. you also can build up your assets In toon boom as well. I find the toom boom Environment much more friendly as it is set up for the sole purpose of animation. there is a learning curve but just stick with it and you will get it.

I keep all of my character positions and stuff in the global library so that they can be reused because I hate to redraw what I don’t need to. So, it can be done.

Man,…what a relief!!! I’m glad to see that someone else uses ToonBoom Studio. I was beginning to wonder if anyone visited this forum.

Does anyone here use it exclusively for TV Broadcast animation? Anyone here just use it exclusively period?

I’d like to dive in and buy this app,…but I’m worried that perhaps the support won’t be around much and that does mean alot to me. I hate learning something new only to see it vanish.