cut out animation problems

hello

I’m new to toon boom - just getting stuck into it for the first time - and the area im currently getting under my belt is cutout animation.

Im using TBS 3.5 (im also a classiclly trained animator who has been using flash for nearly 10 years as both a web dev and character animation tool. So im very familliar with terminology and the concepts behind cutout animation).

the problem im encountering is this.

I have my character all rigged with pegs for each part - tested all the movement to make sure things will work - but when it comes to actually animating the character weird things start to occur.

for example - i have used the rotation tool to change the rotation of a body part across several keyframes, i then discovered i could use the main transform tool to do the same job. sounds great, but when using a different tool the rotation was changed globally across the whole timeline. So my leg (which was doing a nice walking motion on the ground, was suddenly walking at a 90 degree angle to the body out in mid air)

Is there some fundamental steps that should be carried out after rigging but before animating that i have missed?

any pointers greatly appreciated

cheers

I tend not to use the transform tool much as it does too many things and I haven’t mastered it yet.

Your problem could have to do with rotation point. After you get the character rigged on pegs, check that each pivot point is at a joint (rhyme not intended). Test it out.

If I’m not mistaken, the pivot point for the rotation tool and the pivot for the transform tool are two different deals.

Glad to have you around.

re: "the pivot point for the rotation tool and the pivot for the transform tool are two different deals."

ok - sounds like you might be right. that would explain the global change. I was starting to get very confused

already got my pivot points in all the right places.

cheers for the advice