Crashes, Library and Scene Qureies

Hello all. The cartoon I’ve been working on for 6 months now is getting a little long (1400 frames a whole 70 seconds). And I have been suffering occasional crashes, particularly during playback (the one you get into by hitting the enter button). My system has: Windows XP with AMD Turion 64X2 @1.6MHZ and 896Mb Ram. I’m running TN 4.0. Could increasing the ram lessen the crashes?
Anyway, I’m about to bring a second character into the scene and I’m worried that the extra stuff (fully rigged from 4 angles) will cause more crashes. I was thinking starting a new scene with the new character. The theory being that when I enter playback by hitting the enter button it will only play the second scene and thus crash less often. Is this theory hogwash?
Which brings me to my next question. I started to make a new scene and discovered the templates that were in the first scene are not there. So would I need to store the templates from the first scne in the library and then retrieve them into the second scene? And when I store a character in the template library, it stores all of the frames that that character has been in. I only want to store that character and its elements (you know Mouth A, Mouth B . . . ). Probably just something ham handed I’m doing.
A pre thanks for any help.

Hi,

Concerning the crash this is most likely related to the fact your computer cannot hold much more in a single scene as you were expecting. After 1000 frames I usually recommend people to create a new scene (in the same project) and continue on working on that new scene.

As you were mentioning an increase of ram would help quite a lot for everything in a single scene is cached in the Ram to allow using the playback button.