Compositing Software?

Hi folks,
So I was curious to see what compositing software you all were using for your projects, and how you were liking your choices! (I searched forums for this but didn’t come up with much.)

I realized recently when drooling over the idea of an iPad(unnecessary) that I had not put serious editing software on my system yet for my project (very necessary). I don’t have tons of $$$, but I can spring for Final Cut X or Premier (I really wish I was a student right now…). I have Logic for music/sfx, so Final Cut Pro would integrate well there, but I hear more effusive praise for Adobe these days, especially among animators.

So what are you using? And is it good?
Thanks!

I use sony vegas pro now (cause of work) and it is pretty decent and the price isn’t too bad.

It really depends what you expect from your software and what features you will actually use.

I use Sony Vegas Pro as well and am very happy with it. For audio I use Audacity which is freeware.

Since you appear to be on a Mac I would definitely suggest either Final Cut Pro or Premiere Pro. Personally, I really love using Premiere Pro, but if that’s too expensive you might consider Premiere Elements. Trial versions are available on the Adobe site:

http://www.adobe.com/downloads/?promoid=JZEFS

I’m using Vegas 11 I think. It was pretty cheap and was the only software that imported my quicktime files that Animate exports to without any hassle. The only draw back I’m having with it is, I animate in 12fps and there’s no good render options for that. There’s either a drag, or a “ghost” behind characters when they move. The best I came up with was disabling the re sample on scenes I do not wish to have that ghost drag. Any advice would be great. Would love to not have to move to 24fps :wink: