Child Layer Over Parent

When I nest a drawing as a child to a parent drawing - it appears above the parent - instead of below. Is there an option I have clicked that has reversed the standard result?

Is it possible that you have dragged to the wrong place? In the timeline, when you drag a layer, you must drag it and then drop it on top of the parent, then when you let go the child layer should be below the parent and indented. If, instead of dropping the child on top of the parent, you dropped it above the parent, it would just reorder the layers instead of making the hierarchy.

Nothing so simple, I’m afraid. I’ve been using TB Studio for over 2 years, and I am familiar with parenting elements. This is how I’ve linked the 2 elements But the corresponding z relationship is like this I’ve tried several new files but the outcome is the same

@grenspleen
you can but adjust the z-depth settings of the elements in the timeline. just click on the expand button (<-||->), then on the ‘+’ to access the coordinate values.
rob

Just in case, if you use TB Animate Pro, you can solve it in the net wiew, but I guess it’s Animate that you using

Thanks for the replies. I know I can fix the position with a Z nudge. But it isn’t meant to happen. It may indicate settings or a fault that could affect other functions. I’d prefer to resolve it. Do you think it constitutes a technical issue - so I can email technical support?

as far i can remember, all children parts appear above the parent parts in animate’s camera view as a default (correct me anybody if i’m wrong).

do you mean layers visually in the timeline or physically in the camera view?
rob

According to the Animate manual and Kick Start videos child elements are by default under the parent in the Camera view - as well as the Timeline.