Character Layering

Would I need to add layers to a character if I do frame by frame animation?

You mean if you need to use more than one layer?

It depends on what kind of animation you are doing.
If you use several layers you can move one part of the character and have a hold on the other part.

So It’s very much up to what your are planning to do with the character.

What I plan on doing is making frame by frame animation. But since that I’m new to this, I don’t really know how I should do that. Now for the layering bit, I meant the character being a single object with countless layers for each part. Not sure if that is how I should go about it.

The person you were replying to is a known spammer. I would not take what they say at face value, which is why their comments keep getting deleted.

Hello Austin,

Have you taken a look at our Learn portal? We have a journey specifically designed for giving you all the fundamentals for frame-by-frame paperless animation, located here: https://learn.toonboom.com/journeys/traditional-paperless-animator

If you have followed this journey and still have questions, please let me know and I will do my best to get you the answers!

dstruble, please provide evidence of this fraudulent claim. INSANE!

I’ve probably been a harmony customer longer than you’ve even been an employee there!

Posting a single heads-up about competing software is spam? Asking why my posts are being deleted is spam? I don’t think so. No doubt you’ll delete this “dissenting” post, too.

Hi Muchachotron,