Can't reorder layers

Please be patient - I’m new at all this…

I’m constructing an animated tutorial. I’ve got a set of screen shots and animated transitions and highlights in sync with audio narration. I added an actor to the tutorial (I just turned the ballerina into a template and brought that into the tutorial to practice until I can create my own actor).

The ordering of the layers makes no sense. The actor’s right leg and left thigh is behind the screen shot, but the rest is visible in front. I’ve moved things up and down the timeline and nothing seems to matter. I’ve created pegs and reordered them in the timeline. No effect. I tried things like enabling animate and transform and nudge the parts forward and backward with alt-arrow, but that doesn’t do anything.

I had a similar problem when I created my own face/head for a new actor. I added a “back of the head” hair, and I couldn’t send it to the back in the order of layers. All the other layers ordered just fine, but I couldn’t add this new hair and push it back.

Help! What am I doing wrong?

EDIT: I experimented and found a way to resolve this. I went to layer properties for the peg for all the screens, clicked on Constant Z, and set the value to -0.0100. That shoved them to the back of everything. I have a feeling this is not the best way to handle it…

I don’t know why nudging won’t work. Maybe the key bindings aren’t set properly. I checked the preferences and can’t even find a key binding for it.

Hello,