Can't open the tutorial files on 4.5...

I’m new to ToonBoom. In fact, I just got it yesterday. I checked out the site and saw there were free tutorials that I could download to teach me the basics of the software. I downloaded it and the instructions, but whenever I try to open the TBP files, it never works. It just says “Drawing_Rough.tbp is not a supported file”. How can I fix this? Am I doing anything wrong?

I posted this last week. Why haven’t I gotten any help?

I too have posted the same question, with no reply. It appears to me that the tut files (e-learning) on this site are only good if you have the latest version (TBS5). I’ll probably get thrown off the board here, but I would say this is ingenious if true. There needs to be some backward compatibility for this stuff, as I have purchased tutorials that reference files on this site for use, and you can’t even open them. Perhaps it’s a design flaw in TBS, where they need to have a system like with MS Office, where if they are changing the format of the file each release, there is a compatibility mode built in to the software that allows you to at least open/save files.

This one leaves a bad taste in one’s mouth…
jigs
>:(

Please make sure, that you run Toon Boom Studio from an Administrator Account…
Right click the “Drawing_Rough.tbp” file / Get Info…
Make sure, your Privilege is set to Read & Write…
Try open the file again…

Regards
Nolan

Thx Nolan, I did that but still get:
{filename}.tbd is not a supported version
This is perhaps a little different then the Op problem…dunno. But I really need to get into these tuts! thx again.

Well, this sounds fairly strange…
Make sure, that you didn’t move, by any chance, the tbp file out of the project folder…?

Otherwise, you might consider and contact directly Toon Boom Tech-Support:
techsupport@toonboomstudio.com.

Regards
Nolan