cant nudge on Z axis - shortcut doesnt work

Hi

Several shortcuts do not work, most notably the shortcut to nudge layer order so that child layers visually appear over or under their parent layers in the Z axis. (all that seems to happen is that the layer moves on the X axis).

Another is the onion skin shortcut which also doesnt work at all, but not critical as there is at least a menu item for this.

I realise others have had similar issues but I cant find a solution.

Yes, I have checked prefences and reset short cuts to flash default.

And yes it doesnt work reagrdless of where the red box seems to be.

I really need this clearing up.

Thanks

LA.

thanks Lilly,

Perhaps I am misunderstanding something here as I am new to this software. What I am trying to achieve is basically to place a hand visually infront of a forearm. As the hand is a child of the forearm it is currently visually behind the forearm. I assumed that in order to bring the hand forward (but still remain as a child of the forearm) I have to select the hand then Alt and arrow Down to bring the hand forward one place on the Z axis thus moving it forward and in front of the forearm. Is this not correct? If I am incorrect please could you tell me how I go about this thanks.

Also onion skin short cut does work at all.

thanks again for your help!

LA.

thanks Lilly.

Holding spacebar and then clicking to change window-focus works great-- another option is to go to Preferences–>General–> and then check ‘Focus On Mouse Enter’

–then whenever you move your mouse over a new window it will automatically get focus.

Both ways work well-- just personal preference.

–Ross

I just tried it out on my machine here, and Alt+Down arrow works to move it forward, and Alt+Up arrow works to move it backward. You definitely need to make sure that the red outline (focus) is around your Camera View.