Cancel subscription - product still active for paid time?

My apologies, if the text under orders actually explains it, my first language isn’t english and I don’t fully understand what it says (it says “cancel two days before it renews”, but not what happens if you do it earlier).
So I got the annual subscription and had a friend pay it for me (since credit cards are super expensive here and she had one anyway). Of course, I am very much AGAINST her being charged automatically (especially since I prob gonna move to a country over the year where credit cards are more common).
To not forget about HER being charged, I am tempted to cancel the subscription today, shortly after purchasing.
But does that cancel EVERYTHING? Or can I use the licence for that one year that I have paid for and it will only block after that time?