Broken Pivot Tool?

Hi, I have been a Flash animator for years, and wanted to try out Animate. I’m familiar with Toon Boom Studio and Digital Pro, but I’m having a huge problem with Animate.

You see, I’m trying to set up a puppet for animation, and I try to set up a pivot point to the head peg. So I click the pivot tool, and set the pivot point to the neck. I go and try to use the animation tools, and it seems like the tool completely ignored the fact that I set it to the neck. This makes the IK tool completely useless.

This only happens with pegs. Drawing elements are just fine. Does the tool not work with pegs?

When you work with pegs and you want to use IK, the setup would be a little bit different. You need to be able to have the parent peg inherit the drawing pivot that you set on the drawing, then you would exclude the drawing from IK and just animate with the pegs. This is an advanced feature, however, and is only available through Animate Pro.

~Lilly
Toon Boom Support

Oh, I was using Animate, and not Animate Pro. Let me download that, and see how it works.

If you’re going to give it a try on Animate Pro, then what you need to do is double-click on the drawing layer that’s attached to the peg, then go to the Drawing tab, and from the dropdown list for the pivot select “Use Embedded Pivot on Parent Peg”. Then when you use the IK tool, select the drawing and exclude it from IK, then when you select the peg you should be able to use the IK just fine.

~Lilly
Toon Boom Support

Well, I kinda have a long story, but I’m still having the IK problem.

You see, I finally decided to download Animate Pro to test the lip sync. I wanted to test this because I want to make the jump from Flash (which is giving me some serious issues) to Toon Boom Studio (I’m assuming the whole Toon Boom family uses the same lip sync engine).