Blurry Resolution???

???
Hi,
I’m new to Toon Boom so I’m still figuring things out. Really great program but I’m having trouble gettting a nice resolution when I export:
I’m making animations for video resolution (PAL) 720 x 576 but when I export as, say, a Quicktime movie, the final result looks indistinct (almost blurry) and there’s noticable aliasing of the linework. This even happens when I export as a TGA sequence. Interestingly though, if I open the TGA’s in Photoshop they look crisp and clean (the same in After Effects) but if I open them in Final Cut Pro or try to export them from After Effects as a Quicktime movie… they go blurry again.
It worries me a bit that I won’t actually be able to procude quality animations for video - as was my hope.
Would someone please give me some (reassurance and) advice?
Thanks kindly,
ALEX KUZELICKI

i dunno if i get you right:
in order to have a 720 x 576 video pal resolution you should make your computer graphics 768 x 576, because computer display resolution are square pixels. video pixels are rectangular (for pal: broader), that’s why a .dv export from tbs look blurry.
the dv-output will always look blurry on the computer, but as soon the file gets displayed on a video device, the image will look ok again.

1. have you tried your final video device display already?
2. was this the issue or did you mean something different?

rob

Hi Rob,
Thanks for the quick reply.

I haven’t tried a test for final output (ie. to a video monitor) but I did just do a test of an short animation at 768 x 576 and outputting to Quicktime. Here’s the (weird) results:

* Both the 720 x 576 and the 768 x 576 were equally ‘blurry’ on the computer monitor after exporting them to Quicktime.