Best way to learn how to draw animated cartoons

I’m an absolute beginner – except that I made some pretty funny cartoons when I was a kid in military school – and I want to learn how to make killer 2D animated cartoons, starting with basic drawing instruction. I know this is a tall order requiring a lot of dedication, which is why I want to do it the right way.

My situation is that I have a full-time job, so I’ll have to learn in the evenings and on weekends. I’m pretty much sold on one of the Animate products, but I could use some guidance there, too.

Would any kind soul like to give a n00b some guidance? Many thanks in advance.

What kind of guidance are you looking for? Do you want help deciding which product to buy? Or help learning the products?

There are many helpful tutorials both made by Toon Boom and made by dedicated users that can help you to learn the software. You can find tutorials by going to the “How To” section of the website under Animate. Here’s the link:

http://www.toonboom.com/products/animate/how-to/

Let us know how we can further assist you!

~Lilly
Toon Boom Support

“starting with basic drawing instruction” was more along the line of learning to draw cartoons in the first place, rather than using a specific tool. I need to shape whatever latent talent I might have and add to it with really great instruction. I’m guessing that I should do that first before anything else, but if I’m wrong and it would be better to start with an awesome product like Animate Pro 2 then let me know.

So since I work a 9-5 job and have only nights and weekends to dedicate to the craft, I suppose I won’t be able to attend any formal art schools (also, I’m not trying for a degree or anything academic – just the chops, ma’am).

Any ideas for me?

Download a PLE so you have something to play with.

To learn Animate
Kickstart videos first
Then look up Adam Phillips tutorials on youtube
My tutorials are worth a look!