Beginning placement of tools.

Now, I’m pretty new to TBS, and I’ve been experimenting with it and making short cartoons. The one I’m currently working on I plan to have a walk cycle from one side to another, etc. When I select the rotation tool to make the arms and legs move (to simulate the walking movement) the place where the rotation tool starts, is WAY too far from where my drawing is… Here’s a picture to help describe.

http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/7430/tbsrotatehelp.png

As you can see, I’m attempting to rotate an arm, and the rotate tool starts way across the screen, in the middle. Now, I know to move the green circle to the joint, but then the black box stays where it is, making it impossible to see what I’m doing while I rotate it. Is there a way to move where the tool starts off? Or just a way to get it so I can see my character while I rotate the limbs? ???

Any help is appreciated, and sorry if I’m just stupid and there’s an easy solution.

What happens when you try to drag the tool?

When I drag the green circle, the obvious happens, the circle moves like it’s supposed to, but the tool stays in place.

When I try to drag the black box, it just rotates the tool.

When I try to drag the black circle or the black line OF the black circle, nothing happens. It just selects whatever is under it.

Try setting the pivot points first as pasted below from the F1 Help Guide:

To position the pivots:
1.In the Tools toolbar, select the Rotate tool.
2.In the Timeline or Camera view, select the first layer to set the pivot for.
3.In the Camera view, grab the green pivot point and drag it to its new position.
4.In the Camera view, rotate the part to see if the point is well positioned. If not, relocate it.
5.Repeat the whole process for each piece. Do not forget to set a pivot for the eyes and mouth. This is generally located at the centre of the drawing.
Do not forget to do this for your master peg. Positioning the pivot between the feet is often a good option.