Beginner seeking advice on animation software

I know this will be a hard question to answer, but I need to start somewhere.

I come from a background in 3D art. I own both Lightwave and Modo, plus programs like Photoshop, Illustrator, After Effects, etc.

This last year I’ve bought many anime box sets (over a thousand dollars worth at least), and I’ve become interested in trying my hand at making a three minute anime film.

I’m at the point where I am trying to figure out what software I would need to make a three minute anime. I’ve been looking a some of the Toon Boom programs.

I read one post where someone said that they preferred Coral Painter over the paint program in Toon Boom. I have also read that characters are best done in a vector drawing program and the background is better done in a bitmap program.

As you can see I’m a total beginner at animation.(I think I have enough drawing experience to get by on this first anime.) And since I am new to all this, I’m not sure if I should shell out $1000 and get a all-in-one Toom Boom software package, or if I should perhaps purchase one program for drawing, one program for painting backgrounds, one program for story board, etc.

I’m sure a professional could make the whole animation with Photoshop, but I’m not a professional. I’m going to need a lot of instruction material, and some beginner’s software to get me started on this first animation. (And hopefully not my last.)

I need suggestions from people who have made animations on how to best approach my first animation, where I will learn the animation process. Let’s assume I will use vector drawing for the characters, and let’s also assume that money is not a problem up to $1000-1500 range.

Thanks
Kori

Kori,