background/foreground

Hi,
I’ll try my best to describe a problem I’m having. I’m new to ToonBoom but have lots of experience with other animation programs. I am running a G5 10.4.6.
I’m trying to create a simple scene with a charater walking through a basic landscape.
I would like to create a sky and seperate foreground but everytime I use the gradient tool (paint bucket) every shape in the timeline takes on the new color. I have tried placing them in every conceivable place in order to change their positions in the timeline. The only thing I have not tried is creating these layers in seperate programs and importing them into the project. I’m sure that’s not necessary. Please tell me what I’m doing wrong.
Thanks for the help.
John in Boston

We may need more info to help you. You say you are wanting to create a sky and a seperate foreground. So I’ll assume you want them in seperate elements. To do this you would create two elements in the exposure sheet and create your sky as a cel or cels in one element and your foreground or ground in a different element. You then need to order these elements in the exposure sheet so that the sky is farthest from the viewer and the foreground is closer. That means the sky would be all the way to the right column and the foreground more to the left. Of course you can make an element a background type and that forces it to be at the back of the 3D view.

There is a hierarchy in backgrounds and foregrounds by type so you still have to order multiple background elements or foreground elements appropriately in relation to other backgrounds or foregrounds.

In the time line you want to arrange elemnets of the same type from bottom to top in order of the farthest one on bottom and the closer ones above that. Again type has an effect so background type elements are ordered different from normal type elements or foreground type elements.

But you also want to look at things in top and side view to see their relative 3D positions also.