Animation falling out of sync...

Hey there. I’m EXTREMELY new to the program, and am still working through the trial download. While waiting for my company to just buy it outright, I’m trying to learn as much as possible about the software and work my way through tutorials, etc.

I’m working on an animation where I’ve recorded a voice track (Just myself babbling on to practice timing with) and have imported the track from an Mp4 file. I’ve imported it as instructed from the tutorials, and am timing my rough key frames of animation using the timeline slider to hear when the beats in the voice hit. But when I play the animation back, it falls out of sync with the audio more and more the longer the sound file plays back. It syncs up perfectly for the first few seconds, but starts to lag more and more the longer the sound file plays. (The total length of the sound file is 1595 frames)

This is consistant when I play the animation back exported as a quicktime file, or in playback in ToonBoom. Any assistance on this problem would be appreciated. Thanks

Hi,

Try cutting your sound in multiple smaller pieces of a couple of seconds at most.

Else then that make sure that you have the Streamed checkbox in the sound editor checked.

Best regards,

Ugo

Thanks. I double checked and I have checked “Streaming” as instructed. What’s REALLY odd, is that the sync only goes off when I play the animation back for an extended period. If I play a small chunk. Stop and play again, it stays in sync. If i drag the slider to the a specific section of animation and play for a few seconds, it’s fine anywhere along the 1595 frames. It just goes out of sync when I try and play it all at once. Strange.

Hi,

Would it be possible to know which format is your sound file? Also have you tried to cut the sound in multiple little pieces?

Regards,

Ugo

The sound file is an mpeg 4 (m4a) file.