Animate question

I’ve been using Flipboom and Animationish for years but now I’ve moved on to Animate. Okay so since I’m new to Toonboom Animate I have a lot of questions but one main problem I’m having is with duplicating frames.

Like in Flipboom when I duplicate a frame to modify the copy they pretty much look like two different frames, although in Animate when I try to duplicate a frame and edit the copy it edits the original too. It’s somewhat hard to explain without seeing it. ???

example:

I’ll draw a picture of one of my characters and let’s say I want to make it wave. The first frame would have it’s arm extended.

Then I would duplicate the first frame and edit it’s arm and draw it pointing semi-skyward. In Animate it would edit both the first and second frames.

I appreciate any help in advance! :slight_smile:

I just copy and paste into a new drawing. However there is also a command which allows you to turn a drawing into a new unique drawing except I am away and don’t have animate on my macbook to check.

Hi Lilly.

I’m having a similar problem as inspiremedia although it’s concerning a symbol layer, instead of a normal one. Hitting the “duplicate drawing” doesn’t seem to do much.

I’ve jumped into editing the symbol states, but when I switch states into my timeline, the preceding frames lead into that one, which is no good.

What I’m trying to pull off is having a tail (a cat’s, in this case) flip 180 degrees (via transform tool properties) once it waves from one side of the body to the other. I can’t seem to make a duplicate drawing on a symbol layer, which results in the preceding frames going all 3D rotation on me and flying into the new position. It’s a cool effect, but not quite what I was going for.

Care to offer any assistance?

Thanks,

-Mika

Ah. Thanks a bunch. The added keyframe pre-transform was just what I needed!