animate in drawing or camera view??

I am new to Toon Boom, I downloaded it last night and used it for the first time today. I made a very simple animation by going key frame by key frame using copy and paste and moving it in each frame. It turned out ok for my first attempt at the program. Playing around I have noticed that I can also animate from the camera screen.

I did another test drawing two circles. The first I animated frame by frame using copy and paste. The second I went into the camera view and used the motion tool to animate that one. When I play it in camera mode I see both circles moving. But if I go into drawing the one i moved in the camera screen does not move at all. Why is this? I also noticed that in one the whole grid moves, as i understand I am moving the whole cell and not just the object within the cell…?

My main questions are:

1. When would you animate something in the camera screen using the motion tool vs animating it in the drawing screen using key frame?

2. Would you ever draw in the camera screen? I noticed I am able to do so but am unsure if when you should do so.

3. Why does the circle I animated in camera view not show the animation in the drawing view?

I have used After Effects in the past and found it super easy to make stuff right off the bat… lol… this is driving me crazy though :). I tried doing some searches for this info but was not having much luck.

Thank you all in advance,

Michelle

Michelle, welcome to the world of Toon Boom.

I believe I can help you. Here are some articles which should help to explain the functions of Camera View and Drawing View and how the differ and their usage in creating animation. Then there is a tutorial on animating a bouncing ball using only Camera View. Read these in the order presented below. There are also many other helpful tutorials available on the blog so I included the link to the Learning Track. -JK

1. TOONBOOM BASICS PART 2 - read this first.

2. TOONBOOM BASICS PART 1