2D Animation Books!?

Hi! I am an amateur animator and am currently getting very serious about improving my animations! I am currently reading “Timing for Animation” by Harold Whitaker and John Halas. It has alot of interesting information on using timing to suggest weight and force and gives alot of nice drawing examples of simple animations such as a kicking donkey, a bouncing ball and splashing water to name a few! I am looking to bone up my animation skills! What are the top ten books on 2D animation? Can anybody recommend any websites, tutorials or books that helped them create better animations with Toon Boom Studio. I was reading a book called “Animators Survival Kit” by Richard Williams who is the animator behind “Who Frame Rodger Rabbit” but I kind of gave up half way through reading it. That was a beast of a book…lol :)! I was doing stop-motion animation primarily back then and now I have decided to pick up 2D animation with Toon Boom Studio. Would anybody suggest having a look at this book again? Or perhaps maybe there are better books? Thanks in advance for your replies people!

In my experience, Timing For Animation, The Illusion of Life, Richard Williams/Preston Blair and maybe Acting for Animators is all you’ll need.

Just be aware that the best teacher is many hours of practice and determination to improve your own work. Ten books on animation will repeat themselves a great deal, so it’s best to put them down and pick up your pencil and start drawing.

I’ve noticed that the best animators are never satisfied with their own animation and move on to only to keep on schedule and budget. I’m hoping I can be that disgusted with my own work at that kind of high calibre one day. If you keep pushing with everything you do, just like the animators you aspire to, you’re well on your way.

Good luck!

Howdy
Try ‘The Illusion of Life: Disney Animation’ by Ollie Johnston and Frank Thomas. It’s a beautiful book. I think you can get it on Amazon.
Ken